My broken heart

Today I’m left wondering if my daughter knows how much she affects me. Most days she is still asleep when I go to work, so I just pop into her room quickly and kiss her goodbye. She probably never knows that I do it. Today I went into her room and she opened her eyes right away. She asked if I was going to work and I told her I was. Then I kissed her and walked away. Just as I was out of her room she said, “daddy, I want another one.” I went back in and gave her another kiss and a hug. She broke my heart with that one rquest and I’ve been thinking of her ever since. She will never know just how much she means to me. Everything I’ve done in these last 3 years has been for her, and these tiny little moments are what keep me going. Ah happiness, what curious new friend you’ve become.

Fathomless Regression

About fathomlessregression

I am a musician, writer, painter, brother, husband, and father. I have more questions about life than I do answers, and spend the majority of my time exploring the infinite number of possibilities that exist. This is accomplished through my art, music, writing, and most of all through conversation. View all posts by fathomlessregression

Leave a Reply

