I’m Stuck

I have been in a rut for days now. I can’t seem to finish any song ideas and have actually been pretty depressed. I know it’s common for people to feel down around the holidays but I’ve never really had that problem. I find myself increasingly annoyed with the people around me. they seem so arrogant and superficial. I wonder if I appear that way to others??? I’ve managed to create a personality that I use to deal with the general public and it works well as a shield. The obvious downside is that no one I know, knows me. My wife is the only one who gets to see the real me. I’m not sure if that’s a priviledge for her or not.

I wonder what would happen if we all stopped pretending. What if all of the people I know stopped pretending that we really know one another? Silence? Real conversation? God I miss the old garage scene. I just want to feel as comfortable as I did back then. I’d play anything for anyone and not care what they thought. When did I become this insecure little baby who is so worried about other peoples opinions of my music? When did I lose sight of who I make this music for anyway? Oh the thoughts I’m having this Christmas. Well enough of that. Time to put on the mask and face a world I don’t understand and genuinely despise.

Merry Christmas

Fathomless Regression

About fathomlessregression

I am a musician, writer, painter, brother, husband, and father. I have more questions about life than I do answers, and spend the majority of my time exploring the infinite number of possibilities that exist. This is accomplished through my art, music, writing, and most of all through conversation. View all posts by fathomlessregression

Leave a Reply

