Heaven’s Dog

So it’s seem that the pet curse of our family is continuing. In 2007 our dog of many years got loose at the vet and darted into a busy intersection and was killed. Then, earlier this summer, our 3 year old opened the back door while no one was looking and away went our beagle. 6 months later and he still hasn’t turned up at the animal shelter or our house. Then last night our Chihuahua passed away. We still have no idea what happened really, but she went in the night, asleep in her kennel. I just finished burying her behind our house, and making a tiny tombstone for her out of some landscaping brick. It was something that I never want to do again. On the upside, our big ol’ mutt Mia is still alive and kicking, although she’s a bit down today. We all are. What broke my heart is earlier today when we tried to explain to our daughter where her puppy was, she responded with “She drove to heaven, she’s heaven’s puppy now.” Pretty profound considering she’s still just 3. It about ripped me apart when she said. I would give just about anything to think of death in so simple of terms. I already miss our little 2 pounder like crazy but with a son on the way in February I’m still left counting my blessings and running out of fingers to count on pretty damn quick. I’ve finished a very special project and will be posting it here, my homepage, and myspace tomorrow night. Keep an eye and ear open for it.

Fathomless Regression

About fathomlessregression

I am a musician, writer, painter, brother, husband, and father. I have more questions about life than I do answers, and spend the majority of my time exploring the infinite number of possibilities that exist. This is accomplished through my art, music, writing, and most of all through conversation. View all posts by fathomlessregression

Leave a Reply

